Mass Effect, third playthrough

Driver

Unheard of for me. Playing a a series of games straight through for a third time. Since my second was right after the first it wasn't as satisfying.

This time has been great. I remember missions just enough to take the right people along, but not so well that the story is boring.

First time I was a female soldier/biotic hybrid, do-gooder bisexual paragon.

Second time I was a straight biotic, male, tried to be renegade, but just didn't like the dick dialog.

This time I'm playing the soldier/engineer hybrid-- which has been fun as I always like sniper guns, but has a good assortment of powers. Playing paragon again-- this time I'm going to bone Liara all the way through.

ME1 is so much fun, but I always forget the crazy level of enhanced detail and quality jump when I pop in ME2. Next time I might just run the story module to skip ME1. It's great, but it's recycled sets and driving the Mako for eons gets tiresome.

Also interesting how my perceptions of characters changed based on dialog and when I meet them. Granted a lot of the material is the same-- but last time I played ME2 I got Zyeed and he seemed like he was sort of just tacked on. This time I picked him up first since the expansion was already in place and had him in my party for the first few missions because I find Jacob insufferable.

Omega is still my favorite location, I wish there was more with the thief girl-- she's what inspired playing as an infiltrator... though my invisibility never lasts as long as hers. boo.

I'm still split on thinking it is the most amazing space opera ever, or just seeing it's taken the best from Star Wars, Star Trek, SBG and several other sources and made them into a cohesive interactive world. Either way, it's still incredibly satisfying.