Welcome to Nightly.Net
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Starting a garden

garden gardening vegetables

10 replies to this topic

Destiny Skywalker

Destiny Skywalker

Actually, I am a rocket scientist

• Members
  • 20,534 posts
My husband's Christmas gift is going to be a miniature greenhouse/raised planter. We want a garden badly but we don't have a lot of space, we have a dog that pees on everything, and pesticide-crazy neighbors.

The greenhouse is on backorder, but for Christmas Day, I thought I would get some seeds and a tomato planter (going to try one of the hanging ones). (Not to mention I'm not lugging the entire thing to Oregon.) Since this is our first time with a garden, I could use some expert gardener advice. I thought our first planting could be broccoli, kale, lettuce, peas and spinach. We're in Zone 7B, so that looks like sometime in February-March.

My first question is seeds. Since it's our first time, should I just get some seeds from Home Depot or should I try to order some online from someplace nicer? Do local nurseries carry vegetable seeds this time of year?

monkeygirl

monkeygirl

Advad Disagerer

• Administrator
  • 21,922 posts
Ed Hume seeds FTW. They won't carry them til it's time to plant them.

And what's this about OREGON?
  • Ms. Spam +1 this

Destiny Skywalker

Destiny Skywalker

• Members
  • 20,534 posts
We're going to Bandon for Christmas and meeting the whole crazy family there.

I think I already kicked out broccoli. I don't think the planter's big enough.

Guest_bodega_*

Guest_bodega_*
  • Guests