Welcome to Nightly.Net
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Announcement: Nightly and Copyright Laws

34 replies to this topic

Destiny Skywalker

Destiny Skywalker

Actually, I am a rocket scientist

• Members
  • 20,559 posts
From perfectsim in Politics and World Events:

I just want to let you all know that we will be more heavily enforcing copyright infringement and potential copyright infringement. Recently some entrepreneurs have begun to "copyright troll" by buying up the rights to a publication, surfing the internet for infringements and then suing the pants off of the offenders.

http://www.wired.com...tag/righthaven/

We are not particularly worried about something like this happening to Nightly, but in order to prevent things from straying too far from fair use we are instituting a bright line policy designed to prevent anything but fair use with copyrighted materials.

So now,
when quoting a news article in the creation of a topic, use only the headline and the portion of the article directly below which is in italics or bold. When quoting an article becomes necessary in subsequent posts, keep the quote short and to the point.

This rule will no doubt prevent things from being posted which are within the realm of fair use. However this policy is being enforced in order to make things easier for both mods and posters in determining fair use. If everybody had to go through a four point test with each quote to determine compliance with fair use requirements things would become needlessly subjective.