Welcome to Nightly.Net
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

"The Hobbit" Thread

• Please log in to reply
592 replies to this topic

King_Elessar

King_Elessar

Avengers Assemble!

• Members
  • 3,269 posts
'The Hobbit': Peace in Middle-Earth?

This is indeed exciting news!

Darth Lohr

Darth Lohr

Voodoo Chile

• 16,969 posts
"For once, there's reason to be cautiously optimistic."

Well, it's certainly better than "hopeless", so I guess we'll take it! :yes:

D-Ray Kenobi

D-Ray Kenobi

Back off man, I'm a scientist.

• 15,281 posts
I think the most likely scenario is Jackson being given the producer reigns. Not as a producer who throws his name on the list, but a more hands on role sort of like Lucas has taken in years past.

Wally Q

Wally Q

Sockimus

• Members
  • 13,023 posts
I'm thinking that New Line fast-tracks this film (which will turn out horribly with or without Jackson if it's rushed) to beat the strike next summer or NL will lose the rights to making the film and go back to Saul Zaentz in 2009. I also wouldn't be surprised if it fell into Dreamworks (or Spielberg's lap), which will work out in Jackson's favor altogether.

Stevil

Stevil

TK421

• Members
  • 2,491 posts
I read on www.bbc.co.uk the other day that Jackson will have no directorial involvement in the film due to a dispute over the money from Fellowship. Apparently he'd e-mailled Sir Ian McKellan and told him that just because he wasn't going to be involved that shouldn't mean that he shouldn't reprise his role as Gandolf.

Article: http://news.bbc.co.u...ent/7044649.stm

Just in case any of you didn't catch it :)

Darth Spoon

Darth Spoon