Does X-Wing Picture Reveal Big Clues About The Political Climate of The Sequels?

gareth

Hello all,

I have not been on in a bit, really used to love coming on here during the Prequels as I worked in the game industry then while I was doing media, and they were very cool about web use as long as the work got done.

So looking at JJ picture the other day, a few ideas came to mind that I wanted to discuss.

I wrote up an opinion piece as I think JJ may have given us some big clues with the picture of him and the X-Wing. Mainly that the political state of the prequels is a mess. Think about this, the senate is still dealing with the corruption and issues that were common in the pre-Empire era. Some may say look we just got rid of one military body, we are not eager for another. Also, the Empire may be a bigger presence than thought as such systems are on the fence still which limits the budget for new ships and hardware.

Scenario A has the Republic restored and facing the same issues that plagued them in the Prequel Trilogy. Corruption, scandals, infighting, and mistrust may be common place. Add to it that many systems were likely loyal to the Empire, the notion of armed rebels overthrowing the ruling power and establishing their leaders in positions of political power may not sit well with many systems.

As such, there could be a fear that those systems who did not actively support the rebellion such as the Bothans and Mon Calamari may find themselves slow to trust or be trusted by the new admin.

As such, there likely would be calls for a reduced military as the last thing many systems would want to see is one well armed military unit replaced with another one.

As such the former Rebel Alliance might have to stretch their technology by keeping older ships on the front lines longer than they would wish.